Showing posts with label funny video. Show all posts
Showing posts with label funny video. Show all posts

Monday, March 24, 2008

Les Indes Galantes

I'm always happy to be learning about whatever opera I can get my hands on. I love it when some one says "Oh, listen to this, it's my favorite." It's even better if I've never heard of it before. Obscure operas are treasures and who doesn't love treasure? Hearing a new singer that blows you away is the same way. It's a new discovery that you're so happy you made. Hearing a new opera and a new singer (both that are amazing) at the same time can be overwhelming, but in this instance I'm not sorry it happened.
I have to thank Sarah Noble at Prima la Musica (one of my favorite blogs) for posting this hysterical clip from the opera "Les Indes Galantes" and, as she promised, it's been stuck in my head all day. Needless to say, the conductor dancing at the end makes it. I don't know what's more ridiculous the production or how well the cast pulls it off! The fabulous singer I discovered was Patricia Petibon, the soprano that's kicking butt in her headdress in the slip. She's spectacular, really. Search for her on youtube, I'm sure you'll find other amazing things she's done.
Despite some of the ridiculous dances in the production, the opera itself is great. I love the music. It's one of those productions that's hard to watch, wonderful to listen to, but once you've started watching you can't stop!!!

How many opera's have you seen like that? Hard to watch, but great to listen to?
Or better yet, how about the other way around? Hard to listen to, but beautiful production?



Happy Listening!!

Monday, September 17, 2007

Don't leave Renee alone!!!!

As much as I absolutely adore Renee Fleming to no end, I still find this clip extremely funny.

Don't leave Renee alone!!!

The thing is, if you haven't seen the clip of the crazy guy going on about Briteny Spears (here) then you probably won't find it as funny as you normally would.

This video (made by the amazing La Cieca) is so over the top Renee-bashing-to-the-max that you can't do anything but just laugh at it. It's totally ridiculous and hysterically funny. Mind you, this is coming from a total Fleming-lover!

Happy watching! =)